In The Blink of An Eye

It seems as if I’m finding it harder to find time to stick to my schedule and make a post every Monday. I feel like I just keep getting busier and busier especially since the end of the semester is coming along real quickly. Just these past two weeks I was able to go to the breathtaking cliffs of Moher, visit Phoenix Park, and also celebrate some birthdays, all while having to prepare for an exam, on top of work and classes.

This past Saturday everyone was able to take a day trip up to the Cliffs of Moher and Galway. This was included in our program so I was pretty excited to see the Cliffs. They might be one of the most famous places to visit while in Ireland. We were provided with a tour bus that took us to the Cliffs. We were able to see a lot of the Irish countryside, and it enchants me every time I see it.IMG_3842

After the surprisingly smooth 3-hour bus ride, we arrived at the Cliffs of Moher. It was beautiful. The cliffs were even more stunning in person than in the pictures. When you’re there they really do take you breath away. Add that on with the fact the sun was actually shining, it was unbelievable. I never understood why the Cliffs were so popular until I was there, standing on the edges.IMG_3860

One of the other amazing, yet very dangerous thing about the Cliffs were the winds. They were incredibly strong, and I could see how very easily someone could literally be swept off their feet, especially since you can get right to the edge of the Cliffs. Luckily they were pretty mild when we were all on the edges, but they picked up intensely when we were in a rather safe area. On top of all that the weather was perfect for the cliffs as it was mostly a sunny day out.IMG_3870

After the Cliffs, we continued our tour towards Galway. We stopped a bit in an area that was completely made by limestone. The was some rocks stacked upon each other, supposedly very ancient as well. It was called the portal rock that was used for about 500 years as ritual for burying the dead back in the day.IMG_3893

Unfortunately we didn’t get enough time in Galway to explore and experience much of it. We only really had about less than hour to grab food before heading back on the bus towards home.

The rest of the week felt extremely hectic and full of lethargy. I had to study and take an exam during the first half of the week while juggling work, class, and even a birthday dinner. That combined with having to wake up at about 6 everyday that week took me out.

Work was extremely busy, but rather exciting because it was our rebrand week. There were a lot of events for the week, but also a lot of work to be done. I had to rebrand probably a million documents and conform them all to our parent company’s standard. It felt like I was also running around everywhere trying to help out whoever I could. It was honestly one of the most exciting week thus far.

I had the opportunity to visit Google in the Dublin financial hub. Google was hosting what they called “Google Breakfast Briefings.” It was essentially a business presentation given by Google for business owners to help them successfully run their business. Although it did not pertain to me, it was incredibly insightful. I felt I was learning so much from such a short presentation.

IMG_3912That Friday night the company held a party for the kick off week. It ended up being a ton of fun, especially since all of the drinks were provided for by the company. I was talking to so many of my coworkers that I’ve never even talked to before. They all ended being amazing people. Some of which I could have never imagined seeing them drinking, and yet there they were all getting drunk. It was all in all a very fun night for everyone involved.

On Saturday morning, a bunch of us in the CAPA program went to Phoenix Park for a picnic and visit to the President’s house. Phoenix park is one of the largest park in all of Europe. On a bright and sunny day out like on Saturday, it’s amazing. There’s just so much trees and grasslands it almost feels endless. After a tour of the President’s house many of us elected to enjoy our rare opportunity to have fun in the sun.

So pretty much it’s been a long couple of weeks that now just feels like they went in the blink of an eye. It’s almost hard to even think about having to eventually go back home to Florida. I sort of really don’t want to. I just feel like I’m in this strange routine and it feels like this could be my life and I’d be okay with that. It’s one slice of life that I wouldn’t mind continuing on just a tad longer. I guess it sort of attributes to me scared of the future, because going back home means, in a way, continuing reality, and life itself.

Until next time (hopefully next monday).

Leave a Reply

